The castle was probably built in the first half of the 13th century on a mountain spur, today's Sparrenberg. It was first mentioned in a document in 1256. Its builder, one of the Counts of Ravensberg, made the castle the center of power for his county. It also became the residence of the sovereign and his entourage. At the same time, it served to militarily secure the pass in the Teutoburg Forest and to protect and guard the town of Bielefeld, which was founded in 1214. It was a reminder to the people of Bielefeld not to forget the power of their sovereign and not to become rebellious.
With its casemates, whose corridor system is 285 meters long, the four roundels that were added in the 16th century and the 31.5 meter high tower, "Burg Sparrenberg" is Bielefeld's landmark and one of the most popular excursion destinations in the region.